Fellows Announced, Awards and Fellowships Given at 2014 Annual Meeting

The Texas State Historical Association announced new Fellows of the Association and distributed $25,000 in prizes to recipients of seven awards and five research fellowships at the Annual Meeting on March 6-8, 2014, in San Antonio.

FELLOWS Elected in 2014
Cary D. Wintz
Donald S. Frazier


Al Lowman Memorial Prize
Ignacio Garcia, When Mexicans Could Play Ball: Basketball, Race, and Identity in San Antonio, 1928-1945

The Mary Jon and J. P. Bryan Leadership in Education Award
Patricia Ritchie and Mary Scheer (two awards)

Liz Carpenter Award
Bruce Glasrud and Merline Pitre, Southern Black Women in the Modern Civil Rights Movement

Kate Broocks Bates Award
Raúl Coronado, A World Not to Come: A History of Latino Writing and Print Culture

Coral Horton Tullis Memorial Prize
Jason Mellard, Progressive Country: How the 1970s Transformed the Texan in Popular Culture

Ron Tyler Award
Jim Parsons and David Bush, Fair Park Deco: Art and Architecture of the Texas Centennial Exposition

H. Bailey Carroll Award
Megan Benson, “Railroads, Water Rights, and the Long Reach of W.A. East v. Houston and Texas Central Railroad Company (1904),” from the January 2013 volume of the Southwestern Historical Quarterly


Catarino and Evangelina Hernández Research Fellowship in Latino History
David J. Cameron

Mary M. Hughes Research Fellowship in Texas History
Thomas Kreneck

John H. Jenkins Research Fellowship in Texas History
Brandon Aniol

The Cecilia Steinfeldt Fellowship for Research in the Arts and Material Culture
Charles Lawry

Lawrence T. Jones III Research Fellowship in Civil War Texas History
Matthew Stith