While our physical offices are closed until further notice in accordance with Austin's COVID-19 "stay home-work safe" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


Teresa Palomo Acosta

SOUTH TEXAS MUSIC WALK OF FAME. The South Texas Music Walk of Fame was established in Corpus Christi, Texas, in 2004 to honor South Texas musical artists who represent a wide diversity in musical traditions from the Tejano onda to rock-and-roll and from country to jazz. Each year on the first Friday of June, six new stars are added to the South Texas Music Walk of Fame during the WaterStreet Market Music and Art Fest. The Walk of Fame is a volunteer-led effort that is completely funded by WaterStreet. Artists who are honored with stars at the South Texas Music Walk of Fame are nominated year-round at Surf Club Records in Corpus Christi. All the nominees must be South Texas natives who were born between San Antonio and the southern tip of the Lone Star State or musicians who live in that area.

The South Texas Music Walk of Fame is located one block from the bay in downtown Corpus Christi, stretching from Agua Java, a coffee shop, and circling the fountain at the Executive Surf Club—a restaurant, music venue, and home of Surf Club Records. The stars etched at the Walk of Fame are handmade by artists at the Aloe Tile Works company in the city. Each star consists of Texas flags flying on musical notes on each point of the star. The name of the honored artist appears in the center of the star. Musicians recognized by the South Texas Music Walk of Fame have achieved national and international fame. Among the honorees are Guy Clark, Selena, Roger Creager, the Bubble Puppy band, the Galvan Brothers, Chris Layton, Freddie Martínez, Sr., Freddy Fender, Sunny and the Sunliners, Flaco Jiménez, Doug Sahm, Augie Meyers, George Strait, Esteban “Steve” Jordan, Allen Wayne Damron, Leo Majek Orchestra, Randy Garibay, Tony Joe White, and Kris Kristofferson.


South Texas Music Walk of Fame (http://www.executivesurfclub.com/records/SouthTexasMusicWalkofFame.cfm), accessed November 23, 2011. “South Texas Music Walk of Fame,” Texas Music Office (http://governor.state.tx.us/music/tour/south-texas-music-walk-of-fame), accessed August 26, 2015.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Teresa Palomo Acosta, "SOUTH TEXAS MUSIC WALK OF FAME," accessed August 05, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/xlstx.

Uploaded on May 27, 2015. Modified on August 26, 2015. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...