Debbie Mauldin Cottrell

TEXAS DEMOCRATIC WOMEN. Texas Democratic Women was organized in 1987 to assist in the growth of the Democratic party in Texas and in the election of Democrats to all levels of office. Jeanie Stanley of Kilgore, who served as the first president of Texas Democratic Women, was instrumental in the group's founding. The organization particularly seeks to achieve its goals through increased political activity and influence of women members of the Democratic party in the state. Headquartered in Austin, the group is affiliated with the National Federation of Democratic Women and also has local clubs across the state. It holds training conferences, workshops, and annual awards dinners, which have recognized such individuals as Ann Richards, Ralph Yarborough, Lena Guerrero, and Barbara Jordan. Texas Democratic Women serves as a network for other Democratic women's organizations and encourages geographic, ethnic, issue, age, and occupational diversity within its membership. It works closely with such groups as the Texas Women's Political Caucus and the League of Women Voters of Texas and in 1992 participated with these and other organizations in a statewide voter registration project. Also in 1992 Texas Democratic Women was selected to host in Austin the 1993 convention of the National Federation of Democratic Women. The organization has four officers and a nine-member executive board. In 1992 the president of Texas Democratic Women was Mae J. Jackson of Waco. In 1994 there were thirty-six local affiliates of the group, and membership in the organization was 1,100.

Texas Democratic Women-Annual Meeting and Second Annual Awards Dinner and Membership Directory (Austin: Texas Democratic Women, 1992).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Debbie Mauldin Cottrell, "TEXAS DEMOCRATIC WOMEN," accessed August 26, 2019, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/weteg.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox