While our physical offices are closed until further notice in accordance with Austin's COVID-19 "stay home-work safe" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


William A. Brkich

BEXAREÑOS DEMOCRATAS. The Bexareños Democratas or Bexareños Democráticos (Democrats of Bexar) was a conservative political organization founded in San Antonio, Texas, in 1868. The organization’s original conception dates back to June 30, 1855, when Juan Seguín and José Antonio Navarro, among others, organized Tejano Democrats in Bexar County as the “Democratic Mexico-Texans.” Their purpose was to oppose the growing influence of the Know-Nothings (see AMERICAN PARTY) whose anti-immigration, anti-naturalization, and anti-Catholic policies went directly against the interests of the Tejano community.

As the Know-Nothings’ political influence diminished to irrelevancy in the late 1850s and the Democratic party fell into disarray during the Civil War, so did the Democratic Mexico-Texans. However, Tejano Democrats began to organize once again in 1868 in response to the shift in Reconstruction policies implemented by the Radical Republicans in Congress the prior year. Moreover, Tejano Democrats in Bexar County organized in response to the local supporters of Radical Reconstruction, the Mexican-Texan Club, which was founded in July 1868.

The Bexareños Democratas formally organized in August 1868 and consisted of prominent Tejano Democrats such as José Antonio Navarro, Rafael Quintana, Antonio M. Ruiz, Manuel Yturri, José Peñaloza, and Juan Cárdenas. The group’s principles were in accordance with the Conservative Union Reconstructionists, a movement that began in Galveston and Houston in 1867. The Bexareños Democratas were conservative in nature. They fought against the “negro supremacy” they saw being imposed in the South through Radical Reconstruction policies.

The Bexareños Democratas was an active local arm of the national Democratic party. Its membership and leadership consisted of predominately propertied Tejano elites. However, a few Anglo-American Democrats were among the organization’s membership and leadership. The group communicated with the public through a combination of the San Antonio Herald and privately published pamphlets.

Early activities were mostly in opposition to the Mexican-Texan Club and its support of Radical Reconstruction. Their early focus on conservative Democratic party issues included their efforts to defeat the Radicals’ efforts to advance the issue of the division of Texas at the Constitutional Convention of 1868–69. In 1871 Antonio Menchaca, Juan Chaves, and José Peñaloza spoke during a rally at Mission Espada to garner support for resolutions for the Bexareños Democratas to back conservative candidates. In 1872 the Bexareños organized a Mexican campaign to support Horace Greeley over Ulysses S. Grant’s bid for reelection.

However, toward the end of the 1870s, the Bexareños focused less on national Democratic issues and more on local Tejano issues. This began in earnest in 1876, when, in January they argued in support of $300,000 to bring the railroad and its jobs to San Antonio and its Tejano community. In 1878 the Tejano leadership of the Bexareños walked out of a Democratic convention because they felt the party was using the Tejano community to attain ends that went against their interest. Members of both the Bexareños and the Mexican-Texan Club even began to leave politics at the door and worked together organizing the Diez y Seis street festivals in San Antonio. Bexareños leader Juan Cárdenas in 1883 chaired a committee (that included Mexican-Texan Club leader Epistacio Mondragón) that drafted resolutions in protest of Frederick Kerble, the lessee of San Pedro Springs Park, banning Mexicanos from using the dance platform in the park. In 1896 the Bexareños, led by civil rights activist A. L. Montalbo, protested an attempt to disfranchise Mexicanos by two Anglo attorneys.

The Bexareños Democratas slowly dissolved as an arm of the Democratic party in the late 1890s and early twentieth century. Although the Bexareños formally disappeared, its members and leaders continued be vocal in the Tejano fight for civil rights as part of the sociedad mutualistas (mutual aid societies), especially the Sociedad Mutualista Mexicano, that formed in 1883 with Juan Cárdenas at the helm.


Jesús F. de la Teja, A Revolution Remembered: The Memoirs and Selected Correspondence of Juan N. Seguín (Austin: Texas State Historical Association, 2002). Arnoldo De León, The Tejano Community, 1836–1900 (Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1982). David McDonald, José Antonio Navarro: In Search of the American Dream in Nineteenth-Century Texas (Denton: Texas State Historical Association, 2010). Judith Berg Sobré, San Antonio on Parade: Six Historic Festivals (College Station: Texas A&M University Press, 2003).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, William A. Brkich , "BEXAREÑOS DEMOCRATAS," accessed August 09, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/web02.

Uploaded on September 4, 2018. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...