TRAIL DRIVERS ASSOCIATION. The Trail Drivers Association was organized in 1915 under the leadership of George W. Saunders to perpetuate the memory of the old trail drivers. First officers of the association were John Rufus Blocker, president; George W. Saunders, vice president; Luther Lawhon, secretary; and R. B. Pumphrey, treasurer. In 1994 membership was about 400, mostly descendants of the old drivers. Headquarters of the association are at San Antonio, where an annual celebration is usually held at Trail Drivers Hall in Brackenridge Park. In 1994 the president was Burrell Gerhardt.

J. Marvin Hunter, Trail Drivers of Texas (2 vols., San Antonio: Jackson Printing, 1920, 1923; 4th ed., Austin: University of Texas Press, 1985).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "TRAIL DRIVERS ASSOCIATION," accessed August 19, 2019,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox