Edwin J. Foscue

TEXAS GEOGRAPHIC SOCIETY. The Texas Geographic Society was organized in Dallas on May 24, 1933, with an initial membership of 300. Purposing to interpret geography in popular terms, the society arranged for monthly lectures and in 1937 began publication of the Texas Geographic Magazine. Among the society's presidents were Robert T. Hill, Victor H. Schoffelmayer, James M. Martin, Edwin J. Foscue, W. E. Wrather, and Raymond W. Fry. The society disbanded in 1950 due to lack of financial support. The last issue of the Texas Geographic Magazine was published in 1948.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Edwin J. Foscue, "TEXAS GEOGRAPHIC SOCIETY," accessed May 25, 2019, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/vut04.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox