Since its original printing in 1952, the publication of the Handbook of Texas has been made possible through the support of its users. As an independent nonprofit, TSHA relies on your contributions to close the funding gap for the online Handbook and keep it a freely accessible resource for users worldwide. Please make a donation today to preserve the most comprehensive encyclopedic resource on Texas history. Donate Today »


James A. Tinsley
William H. Masterson
William H. Masterson. Courtesy of Rice University. Image available on the Internet and included in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107.
J. S. Cullinan Letter
Letter from the J. S. Cullinan Papers, 1923. Courtesy of the University of Houston Libraries. Image available on the Internet and included in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107.
Julia Ideson Building
Houston Metropolitan Research Center Building. Image available on the Internet and included in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107.

TEXAS GULF COAST HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION. The Texas Gulf Coast Historical Association was incorporated by professional and lay historians in Houston on June 15, 1955, as a nonprofit educational corporation designed to collect records, issue occasional publications, and stimulate interest in the field of local business history, an area in which there was little institutional activity at the time. The first board of trustees consisted of Rice University professors William H. Masterson (president) and Edmund T. Peckham (treasurer), University of Houston professors Crisler B. Ransom (vice president) and Edward E. Dale (trustee), Houston Post columnist James A. Clark (secretary), Bank of the Southwest president Lewis R. Bryan, Jr. (trustee), and Houston Public Library director Harriett Dickson Reynolds (trustee). Professor James A. Tinsley of the University of Houston was the association's first and only executive director. The association reached a peak of 300 individual and corporate memberships in the early 1970s, when its annual income approached $20,000. Archival storage space was donated by the Houston Public Library and the University of Houston. The association acquired several manuscript collections, most notably the personal papers of Joseph Stephen Cullinan and John Henry Kirby. Among its sixteen publications were monographs on the Houston Oil Company, the Texas sugar industry, the Ku Klux Klan of the 1920s, the Houston East and West Texas Railway, Polignac's Brigade, Anderson, Clayton and Company, Gulf States Utilities Company, and addresses by William B. Bates, Isaac H. Kempner, William L. Clayton, Wallace E. Pratt, and Arthur M. Johnson. In the late 1970s a Sports Archive of forty taped interviews with persons prominent in local sports history was completed, along with two publications on the history of professional baseball in Houston. After the University of Houston and Rice University developed formal public history and archival programs, the association disbanded on November 1, 1985, and donated its archives and the Joseph S. Cullinan Publication Fund ($25,000) to the Houston Metropolitan Research Center. The board members of the association at the time of dissolution were trustees Jack S. Blanton, Thomas A. Bullock, Charles Butt, Joe H. Foy, Charles F. Jones, Harris L. Kempner, S. W. Mothershed, Nat S. Rogers, and Ernest L. Wehner; president Harry W. Patterson; vice president Robert V. Haynes; secretary-treasurer Barbara Day; and librarian David M. Hennington.


Houston Metropolitan Research Center Files, Houston Public Library. Vertical Files, Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, University of Texas at Austin.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, James A. Tinsley, "TEXAS GULF COAST HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION," accessed June 17, 2019,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Modified on July 13, 2017. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox