sidebar menu icon


RATTLESNAKE MOUNTAINS. The Rattlesnake Mountains are a rugged, roughly circular group of peaks that straddle the boundary of Big Bend National Park five miles southeast of Terlingua in southwestern Brewster County (at 29°15' N, 103°33' W). The elevation at the highest point within the Rattlesnake Mountains is 2,911 feet above sea level, and the mountains rise as much as 600 feet above Terlingua Creek, which skirts the base of the range on the north and west before it crosses the broad desert flats to the southwest. The higher elevation of the Rattlesnake Mountains relative to the surrounding desert is a result of the markedly different levels of resistance to erosion between the hard volcanic rock and the soft surrounding sedimentary material. The biological community at the Rattlesnake Mountains is characteristic of a Chihuahuan Desert scrub habitat. Several species of rattlesnake are indigenous to the area, and this probably accounts for the name of the mountains.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "Rattlesnake Mountains," accessed November 24, 2017,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.