WEST YEGUA CREEK. West Yegua Creek, also known as Third Yegua Creek, rises northeast of McDade in northeastern Bastrop County (at 30°19' N, 97°13' W) and flows eastward for thirty-two miles to its mouth on Middle Yegua Creek, southwest of Dime Box in Lee County (at 30°20' N, 96°52' W). In Bastrop County it travels through an upland area with open grasses and sandy soil. In Lee County the stream flows through alternating loamy and sandy soils in nearly level to gently sloping terrain.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "WEST YEGUA CREEK," accessed October 22, 2018, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/rbw61.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox