sidebar menu icon


ROBINSON CREEK (Fayette County). Robinson Creek rises one mile northeast of the Byler Point Church in western Fayette County (at 29°54' N, 97°05' W) and flows north for five miles, to its mouth on the Colorado River, just below the mouth of Cedar Creek (at 29°58' N, 97°04' W). Throughout its course it flows through rolling terrain and soils with a fine sandy loam surface layer over a very firm clay subsoil. Because of its high erodibility, the land is rated from poor to fair for farming and is used primarily as unimproved pasture for cattle. Vegetation in the area consists of scattered clumps of oak mixed with cedar and a yaupon understory that provides good wildlife habitat. Near the Colorado River strip-mining operations have removed large quantities of gravel. The creek's name is derived from that of Joseph C. Robinson, an early settler who was captured by the Mexican Army during the Dawson Massacre. He was released from Perote Prison on March 23, 1844, and made his way back to Fayette County, where his detailed account of the affair provided much that is known of the fate of the men commanded by Capt. Nicholas Dawson.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "Robinson Creek (Fayette County)," accessed October 22, 2017,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.