Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share


MIDDLE YEGUA CREEK. Middle Yegua Creek (also called Second Yegua Creek) rises five miles southeast of Coupland near the Lee county line in southeastern Williamson County (at 30°25' N, 97°19' W). The stream, intermittent in its upper reaches, flows southeast for fifty-three miles, through Williamson and Lee counties, to its convergence with East Yegua Creek to form Yegua Creek, five miles southeast of Dime Box in Lee County (at 30°19' N, 96°45' W). Middle Yegua Creek has been dammed to form lakes Round, Shaw, Little, and Mourn. The banks of the stream are wooded in places with post oak and other hardwood trees, and the creek flows through flat terrain surfaced by loamy and clayey soils.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

"MIDDLE YEGUA CREEK," Handbook of Texas Online (, accessed May 24, 2015. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.