sidebar menu icon


HONEY CREEK (Grayson County). Honey Creek rises two miles southeast of Gunter in southern Grayson County (at 33°26' N, 96°43' W) and runs into Collin County, traveling southeast for 16½ miles before emptying into the East Fork of the Trinity River, three miles north of McKinney (at 33°15' N, 96°37' W). The stream is shaded in its upper reaches by bois d'arc, willow, and oak trees. It runs through gently rolling terrain surfaced predominantly by deep, clayey soils over marl and chalk. Local vegetation includes bluestem and other native grasses. The watershed area of Honey Creek includes the communities of Weston, Roland, and McKinney. In the late 1960s and early 1970s several flood-prevention dams were built along the stream. The two tributaries of the creek are Long Branch and Haw Branch. In 1930 Homer L. Merritt of Celina discovered on Haw Branch a giant fossil fish estimated to be 65 million years old. The fossil, nearly thirteen feet long, is on display at the Texas Memorial Museum at the University of Texas at Austin.

J. Lee and Lillian J. Stambaugh, A History of Collin County (Austin: Texas State Historical Association, 1958).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "Honey Creek (Grayson County)," accessed January 16, 2018,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.