sidebar menu icon


FIVEMILE CREEK (DeWitt County). Fivemile Creek, formerly known as Five-Mile Coleto Creek, rises three miles southeast of Blackwell Lake in central DeWitt County (at 29°02' N, 97°23' W) and runs southeast for seven miles to its mouth on Twelvemile Creek (formerly Twelve-Mile Coleto Creek), two miles east of Meyersville (at 28°56' N, 97°16' W). It traverses an area of low-rolling hills and prairies surfaced by moderately to highly expansive clay soil that supports prairie grasses and some mesquite. The creek was named in 1850, when the DeWitt county seat was located in Clinton. The five-mile designation signified the distance from the creek's headwaters to the courthouse door.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "Fivemile Creek (Dewitt County)," accessed October 24, 2017,

Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.