Laurie E. Jasinski

IRRIGATION DISTRICTS. Irrigation districts were first authorized by the Texas legislature in 1905. The law, however, was replaced in 1913 by a new irrigation act providing that districts could be established upon a two-thirds vote of the qualified tax-paying voters after the county commissioners' court conducted preliminary examinations and called for an election. A board of directors of three to five members, including a president, secretary, and assessor-collector, constituted the governing body. The directors could determine the needed employees and procedures to manage proper irrigation. They could also exercise the right of eminent domain in matters such as constructing canals, pump sites, levees, and drainage ditches. In the latter part of the twentieth century, the governing body consisted of five directors, including a president, vice president, and secretary. An irrigation district could consist of part or all of one or more counties, including a town or city, if the land was classified as agricultural. If more than one county was being considered, the matter of establishing a district fell under the responsibility of the Texas Water Commission. Landholders could sign a petition calling for a proposed district area, provided that they represented more than 50 percent of the land value or that at least fifty persons signed for areas that held more than fifty landholding residents. In 1992 the state had twenty-one irrigation districts. See also WATER LAW.

Gwendolyn Lea Gilchrist, Texas Water Resources Management by Water Districts and River Authorities (M.A. thesis, University of Texas at Austin, 1992). West's Texas Statutes and Codes, Vol. 4 (St. Paul, Minnesota: West, 1984).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Laurie E. Jasinski, "IRRIGATION DISTRICTS," accessed July 23, 2019,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox