Clinton P. Hartmann

BRIGADE DISTRICTS. Thirty-two brigade districts were established by the Texas legislature on February 14, 1860, to facilitate the organization of the state militia. After the outbreak of the Civil War, a special law of December 25, 1861, organized the state into thirty-three districts, corresponding generally to the thirty-three senatorial districts. Each district was headed by a brigadier general appointed by the governor. After organization each brigade elected its own commanding officer. A general law of the Tenth Legislature on December 16, 1863, reduced the number of districts to six, and the organization of the districts was suspended with the end of the Civil War.

Hans Peter Nielsen Gammel, comp., Laws of Texas, 1822–1897 (10 vols., Austin: Gammel, 1898).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Clinton P. Hartmann, "BRIGADE DISTRICTS," accessed August 19, 2019,

Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox