While our physical offices are closed until at least April 13 due Austin's COVID-19 "shelter-in-place" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


Stephen J. Matthews

TEXAS MUNICIPAL LEAGUE. The Texas Municipal League was founded as the League of Texas Municipalities in the summer of 1913 by Herman G. James, Director of the Bureau of Municipal Research and Reference at the University of Texas, and Alexander P. Wooldridge, then mayor of Austin. The two men invited representatives from all Texas cities to come to Austin for an organizational meeting. Fourteen cities eventually sent representatives. At that first meeting a modest membership fee was approved along with a constitution to govern the association. Maximilian Starcke of Seguin was among the organizers of the league, and served several terms as president. The membership grew quickly, and by 1946 there were 425 member cities. The sole purpose of the organization is to provide services to Texas cities and city officials. League services to its member cities include legal advice and information on municipal legal matters and legislative representation on the state and federal levels. The central office also supplies information and research library facilities; publishes a monthly magazine, Texas Municipalities; sponsors an annual conference and training seminars on municipal issues; and provides professional development of member city officials. The league is financed primarily by annual service charges paid by affiliated cities, but some income is also derived from magazine and bulletin sales and from subsidiary organizations. The league maintained its headquarters with the Bureau of Municipal Research at the University of Texas in Austin until 1925. Offices were located in Houston from 1925 to 1934, but since that time they have been located in Austin. In 1958 the league adopted its present name. A member of the National League of Cities, the Texas Municipal League in 1994 had 1,000 member cities, representing 98 percent of the urban population of the state. Affiliated with it were numerous specialized groups: Association of Airport Executives, Building Officials of Texas, Texas Association of Assessing Officers, Texas City Attorneys' Association, Association of City Clerks and Secretaries of Texas, Municipal Finance Officers Association (Texas chapter), Texas Fire Chiefs' Association, Texas City Management Association, Association of Mayors, Councilmen and Commissioners, Texas Municipal Parks and Recreation Association, Association of City Personnel and Civil Service Officials of Texas, City Planners' Association of Texas, Texas Police Chiefs' Association, Texas Public Works Association, Municipal Utilities League, and Texas Municipal Librarians Association.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Stephen J. Matthews, "TEXAS MUNICIPAL LEAGUE," accessed April 09, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/mvt01.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...