Since its original printing in 1952, the publication of the Handbook of Texas has been made possible through the support of its users. As an independent nonprofit, TSHA relies on your contributions to close the funding gap for the online Handbook and keep it a freely accessible resource for users worldwide. Please make a donation today to preserve the most comprehensive encyclopedic resource on Texas history. Donate Today »


John G. Johnson

KNIGHTS OF THE ORDER OF SAN JACINTO. In a letter to William Henry Daingerfield dated January 28, 1843, President Sam Houston stated that Daingerfield and Ashbel Smith would be made Knights of the Order of San Jacinto. Houston's intent was that diplomats of the republic would not have to appear titleless and ribbonless among the aristocratic diplomats of Europe. In the letter Houston described the ensign of the order as a green ribbon, worn on the left breast or buttonhole of the coat. Along with the diplomats, Houston wished to honor others who distinguished themselves in service to Texas. The actual awards were probably never made, and besides the letter to Daingerfield there is no mention of the award in contemporary papers.

In 1939, at the suggestion of Hobart Huson, the Sons of the Republic of Texas revived the honorary degree. Huson suggested that the award be given to living men and women who had made a distinguished contribution to Texas; at the next annual meeting, members refused to include women. The award was given from 1941 through 1945 and then discontinued, as some members felt that several men not worthy of the order had been nominated. The honor was reinstated in 1952. Through 2003, 166 men had become Knights of the Order of San Jacinto. To qualify for knighthood an individual must be an active member of the Sons of the Republic of Texas. In addition, he must have performed outstanding service to the State of Texas, made a sacrifice beyond the bounds of duty on her behalf, or by his talents and effort contributed to the development of the heritage of Texas.

Herbert Gambrell, Anson Jones: The Last President of Texas (Garden City, New York: Doubleday, 1948). Sons of the Republic of Texas Yearbook, 1941, 1977, 1981, 1990. Vertical Files, Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, University of Texas at Austin (Knights of San Jacinto, Sons of the Republic of Texas). Amelia W. Williams and Eugene C. Barker, eds., The Writings of Sam Houston, 1813–1863 (8 vols., Austin: University of Texas Press, 1938–43; rpt., Austin and New York: Pemberton Press, 1970).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, John G. Johnson, "KNIGHTS OF THE ORDER OF SAN JACINTO," accessed June 16, 2019,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox