COAT OF ARMS. The coat of arms of the Republic of Texas, originally adopted by the Congress in December 1836, was finally established by an act of Congress on January 25, 1839. It was declared to be a white star of five points on an azure ground encircled by olive and live oak branches. The national seal bore the arms encircled by the words Republic of Texas. The Constitution of 1845 provided for the same seal with the words changed to The State of Texas. See also SEALS OF TEXAS.

Hans Peter Nielsen Gammel, comp., Laws of Texas, 1822–1897 (10 vols., Austin: Gammel, 1898).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "COAT OF ARMS," accessed November 14, 2018,

Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox