sidebar menu icon


TEXAS COMMISSION ON INTERSTATE COOPERATION. The Texas Commission on Interstate Cooperation, ordinarily calledthe Texas Cooperation Committee, was established by the legislature in 1941. It was composed of eighteen members including the lieutenant governor and five Senate members, the speaker of the House and five House members, and the governor and the governor's committee on interstate cooperation. The major duties of the commission were to carry forward the state's participation in the council of state governments and to encourage cooperation between Texas and other states by preparing uniform compacts, laws, and administrative rules. In 1964 the number was changed to nineteen with the addition of one to the governor's committee. By 1972 the commission was inactive with no appointive members at the time. By 1990 it had been abolished.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "Texas Commission On Interstate Cooperation," accessed November 19, 2017,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.