Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share
sidebar menu icon


TEXAS RACING COMMISSION. The Texas Racing Commission was approved by voters in November 1987. It was made up of six regular members: two veterinarians, two greyhound-racing specialists, and two horse-racing specialists, all appointed by the governor; and two ex officio members: the Chair of the Public Safety Commission and the Comptroller of Public Accounts. Responsibilities of the racing commission included encouraging the horse-breeding and greyhound-breeding industries; awarding licenses for pari-mutuel racetracks in Texas; providing strict regulation and control of pari-mutuel betting with respect to horse and greyhound racing; supervising each race meeting conducted in Texas; and adjudicating disciplinary matters arising from the enforcement of laws associated with racing and pari-mutuel betting. As of 1992 three greyhound racetracks and four horse racetracks were in operation in Texas, and the commission had approved licenses for six other horse racetracks that were under construction.

Vivian Elizabeth Smyrl


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Vivian Elizabeth Smyrl, "TEXAS RACING COMMISSION," Handbook of Texas Online (, accessed November 29, 2015. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.