John G. Johnson

TEXAS JUDICIAL COUNCIL. The Texas Civil Judicial Council was established in 1929 to make a continuous study of the organization and operation of the state's civil courts. It consisted of eighteen members, all nonsalaried, to serve overlapping terms of six years. Sixteen of the members were attorneys, some ex officio, elected officials, such as the chief justice of the Supreme Court of Texas. The others were appointed by the governor, and two were required to be laymen, one of whom was required to be a working newspaperman. The name of the council was changed in 1975 to the Texas Judicial Council. Its duties are to study the court system and methods, keep statistics on state judges and other court officials, and to publish annual reports on the state of the judiciary. During its first decade the council concentrated on improving procedure, with the result that in 1939 the legislature authorized the Supreme Court to make rules on civil procedure. In 1940 the Supreme Court appointed an advisory committee on rules of civil procedure to assist and to make continuing studies. In 1969 the Texas Judicial Council's authority was extended to include collecting statistics on the criminal justice system. In 1993 the council had nineteen members; ten ex officio members included the chief justice of the Supreme Court of Texas, the presiding judge of the Court of Criminal Appeals, two justices of the Courts of Appeals appointed by the governor for four-year overlapping terms, two presiding judges of the Administrative Judicial Districts, also for four-year overlapping terms, the chairman and the immediate past chairman of the Senate Jurisprudence Committee, and the chairman and the immediate past chairman of the House Judiciary Committee. The remaining nine members were appointed by the governor for six-year overlapping terms. Seven are required to be members of the State Bar of Texas and two non-lawyer citizens, one of whom must be a professional journalist. The appropriations, which include funding for the Office of Court Administration, were $1,165,118 for 1992 and $1,131,159 for 1993. The two organizations are allotted eighteen employees. The Texas Judicial Council is scheduled for sunset review in 2001.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, John G. Johnson, "TEXAS JUDICIAL COUNCIL," accessed September 16, 2019, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/mdt07.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...