sidebar menu icon


PLANNING AGENCY COUNCIL. The Planning Agency Council, created by the Fifty-ninth Legislature in 1965, was composed of eight members who were representatives of the Texas State Department of Health (later the Texas Department of Healthqv), the Texas State Highway Department (later the Texas Department of Transportationqv), and the Texas Industrial Commission, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, State Soil and Water Conservation Board, Texas Employment Commission, Railroad Commission, and Texas Water Development Board. The function of the council was to coordinate state programs involving the use of federal, state, and local funds. It reviewed state efforts involving water supplies, parks and recreational facilities, and transportation. The Sixtieth Texas Legislature in 1967 transferred the Planning Agency Council to the Governor's office. The council's duties and staff then operated within the newly established Division of Planning Coordination, Governor's Office, and several interagency councils.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "Planning Agency Council," accessed November 21, 2017,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.