BOARD FOR TEXAS STATE HOSPITALS AND SPECIAL SCHOOLS. The Board for Texas State Hospitals and Special Schools was established by the Fifty-first Legislature in the spring of 1949 to govern the state hospitals and state schools formerly under the jurisdiction of the Board of Control. A nine-member board, of which no more than three could be physicians, was appointed by the governor, with concurrence by the Senate, to six-year overlapping terms. The board approved budgets for the central office and each individual institution. In 1956 the board exercised oversight of twenty-two hospitals and special schools. It was abolished in 1965 and its duties transferred to other departments, primarily the Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "BOARD FOR TEXAS STATE HOSPITALS AND SPECIAL SCHOOLS," accessed July 18, 2019,

Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox