TEXAS CENTENNIAL OF STATEHOOD. The Texas Centennial of Statehood, celebrated from the latter part of 1945 through 1946, observed the one hundredth anniversary of Texas's annexation to the United States, dating from the official annexation day on December 29, 1845, to the inauguration of state government on February 19, 1846. In 1941 the Forty-seventh Texas Legislature provided for a Centennial of Statehood Commission headed by Karl Hoblitzelleqv, chairman, A. Garland Adair, commissioner, and Jesse H. Jones, chairman of federal participation. With the outbreak of World War II, the commission decided that the observance should take the form of a constructive program aimed at improvement of Texas's economic and social conditions. Observances were held by patriotic groups, historical associations, and the public schools; attention to the celebration was given in the press and on the radio. Federal participation included the issuance of a three-cent commemorative stamp and an exhibition of Texana in the Library of Congress.

A Century of Texas Governors (Austin: Texas Centennial of Statehood Commission, 1943). Texas Almanac, 1945.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "TEXAS CENTENNIAL OF STATEHOOD," accessed September 24, 2018, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/lkt02.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox