While our physical offices are closed until further notice in accordance with Austin's COVID-19 "stay home-work safe" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


Nancy Beck Young

UNIVERSITY OF SAN AUGUSTINE. The University of San Augustine was founded by the people of San Augustine and chartered on June 5, 1837. After the charter was approved, the trustees of the school received a grant of four leagues of land but quickly sold one league to raise funds for the purchase of a two-story building. The school had planned to recruit students from Louisiana and Mississippi as well as Texas, but for the first two years of its existence the school rented its facilities to J. M. Rankin, a Presbyterian, who used the building to run an academy. In 1842 Marcus A. Montrose became president and the school began to function in its own right. Nominally a state school, the university operated under the influence of the Presbyterian Church. A Presbytery of Eastern Texas was organized at San Augustine in 1843 to assist the school. This relationship fostered animosity in the community, which had a sizable Methodist population. Attendance figures reached a high of 150 students but plummeted to fifty in 1845. Montrose took responsibility for the instruction of older students, who then worked with the younger ones. The University of San Augustine included a grammar school for children under twelve, a female department, and a college that provided three levels of instruction. The school, under Montrose's leadership, embarked in an aggressive advertising campaign to secure students, which embittered factions within the community. After Montrose's departure Oran M. Roberts became the president of the board of trustees, which was reorganized to represent a wide range of religious backgrounds. The University of San Augustine's presidents were Montrose, who served from 1842 to 1845, and James Russell, who served from 1845 to 1847. The university closed in 1847, without awarding a single degree, as a result of sectarianism, a rival college, opposing newspapers, theological intolerance, and the shooting of the president. The buildings were taken over by the University of Eastern Texas.

George L. Crocket, Two Centuries in East Texas (Dallas: Southwest, 1932; facsimile reprod. 1962). Frederick Eby, The Development of Education in Texas (New York: Macmillan, 1925). Dan Ferguson, "The Antecedents of Austin College," Southwestern Historical Quarterly 53 (January 1950). William Stuart Red, A History of the Presbyterian Church in Texas (Austin: Steck, 1936).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Nancy Beck Young, "UNIVERSITY OF SAN AUGUSTINE," accessed July 14, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/kcu06.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...