While our physical offices are closed until further notice in accordance with Austin's COVID-19 "stay home-work safe" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


J'Nell L. Pate

TARRANT COUNTY COLLEGE. Voters of Tarrant County formed the Tarrant County Junior College District in a bond election on July 31, 1965. The district boundaries are coterminous with those of Tarrant County and enclose an area of 900 square miles. The first campus, the South Campus, opened in September 1967, with an $11 million facility on a 158-acre tract; 4,194 students were enrolled in credit classes. In 1968, when the Northeast Campus opened, the total enrollment on both campuses was 7,210. The Northeast facility, in Hurst, covers 188 acres and was constructed at a cost of $10 million. By the fall of 1975, when the Northwest Campus began operations, the total enrollment was 19,495. The Northwest Campus, located on 150 acres on the north edge of Marine Creek Lake, cost $12 million. The total enrollment of the district, which is governed by a seven-member board of trustees elected by the people of Tarrant County, was 27,109 in the fall of 1989. Numerous changes to the physical plants have occurred at the authorization of Tarrant County voters. Additions to the South and Northeast campuses were made between 1972 and 1975. The May Owen Center, which houses the district offices in downtown Fort Worth, was built in 1983. The total value of all district facilities, including a 123-acre site in Arlington purchased in 1987 for a fourth campus, was $111,969,000 in 1990. By 1987 over half of the funding for the college came from the state; the remainder came from local taxes, tuition, and fees. The college received federal financial aid and private foundation grants for various student financial-aid programs. A foundation, Friends of Tarrant County Junior College, was established in 1989 to raise funds for faculty development and various enrichment programs. The Southeast Campus opened in 1996, and the initial enrollment of 3,700 was about half again as many as had been expected. The college is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and approved by the Texas Education Agency and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. It is a member of the American Association of Community Colleges. The college operates under the supervision of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. The college's nursing, automotive technology, and industrial technology programs are concentrated on the South Campus. The Northeast Campus houses most of the programs in health sciences. The Northwest Campus utilizes the adjacent Marine Creek Lake for classes in sailing and canoeing. In addition, by 1990 a Criminal Justice Training Center and Regional Police Academy served area needs. The college also offers degree programs in postal service administration, fire investigation technology, and fire protection technology, as well as horticulture, airframe maintenance and electronics technology, aviation maintenance technology, and interpreting for the deaf. Each campus has a library. In addition, the district has a television station on the South Campus. Publications of the district include a weekly student newspaper, the Collegian. The college is maintained to provide lifelong educational opportunities for county citizens. It has special programs for gifted and underprivileged youth, as well as for senior citizens. By 1990 enrollment in community and continuing education programs exceeded 40,000 persons annually. Tarrant County College had 1,140 faculty members and 26,868 students in the fall of 2000. A large number of the faculty was part-time. The board of trustees voted in 1999 to remove the word "Junior" from the college's name. Leonardo de la Garza was chancellor in 2001, and Michael Saenz, Ernest L. Thomas, Larry Darlage, and Judith Carrier were presidents of the Northwest, South, Northeast, and Southeast campuses, respectively.

A Guide to Higher Education in North Texas, 1989–1990 (Richardson, Texas: Association for Higher Education of North Texas, 1988). Vertical Files, Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, University of Texas at Austin.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, J'Nell L. Pate, "TARRANT COUNTY COLLEGE," accessed May 29, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/kct03.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...