While our physical offices are closed until at least April 13 due Austin's COVID-19 "shelter-in-place" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


Ruben E. Ochoa

SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE. Southwest Texas Junior College, located on Farm Road 1023 in Uvalde, was established in 1946 as the first tricounty junior college in Texas, serving Uvalde, Real, and Zavala counties. Although opposition was strong, a majority voted to establish the college. The campus site had been the location of the Garner Field Army Air Corps flying school (see GARNER ARMY AIR FIELD). Southwest opened in October 1946; chairs were donated by a local funeral home, cafeteria equipment was furnished by the Camp Fawcett Boys Scout Camp, and 1,000 books were contributed by the local chapter of the American Association of University Women. The first year president Vernon D. Parrott was able to secure war surplus items for use at the college. In 1952 Sterling S. Fly, Sr., became president. Most of the World War II buildings were replaced by modern facilities, including Garner Science Center, La Forge Hall (containing a gymnasium, auditorium, cafeteria, and lounge), Richarz Memorial Building (which housed the library containing 16,000 volumes in 1967, administration offices, and a bookstore), and a two-story women's dormitory. These buildings were financed in part by donations from Mr. and Mrs. Joe Richarz, former United States Vice President and Uvalde resident John Nance Garner, and by federal grants. In 1955 La Forge Hall burned, destroying not only the cafeteria, auditorium, and recreation rooms, but many classrooms as well. In 1958 the college constructed a new La Forge Hall. It also purchased the land on which it stood with insurance money from the original La Forge Hall. In 1962 Wayne Mathews succeeded Sterling Fly as president. Students living throughout the district initially rode "The Blue Goose" or one of two station wagons to the college. By 1975 ten buses, four of which were donated by civic organizations in Del Rio, Carrizo Springs, and Eagle Pass, transported students to the college from an area of over 3,500 square miles. Students from other Texas counties or other states were accepted at slightly higher tuition rates. In addition to the regular enrollment in 1964–65, night school enrollment totaled more than 200 students on campus, in Crystal City, and in Del Rio. The two-year program was designed to prepare students for four year colleges, and a one-year program for prospective engineers and one-year and two-year programs in secretarial training, data processing, and nursing were also available. Upper level courses began at the college in 1972 through the sponsorship of Sul Ross University. The enrollment at the Southwest Texas Junior College in the fall of 1974 was 1,606 students; the faculty numbered over sixty members. In 1974 240 students graduated; in 1975 the enrollment increased to 2,065. In 1990 interim president Gerald Underwood directed a student body of 2,598 and seventy-four faculty members; 57 percent of the student body were Mexican-American, 37 percent Anglo-Americans, 1 percent African-American, and 1 percent Asian-American. In 1992–3 the college had eighty faculty members and 2,860 students, and 1,437 students attended the 1992 summer session. Billy Word was president. In addition to the usual college curriculum SWTJC offered courses in farm and ranch management, pilot training, auto mechanics, law enforcement, data processing, computer science, and vocational nursing. The Sul Ross State University Study Center, located in the Anderson Building, offered bachelor and master degree programs in business and marketing-related fields. In 1999 the college operated outreach centers in Del Rio, Eagle Pass, and Crystal City, in addition to the main campus in Uvalde. In the fall of that year the enrollment was 3,427, with a faculty of 187. The president was Ismael Sosa, Jr.

Ida L. Nielson and Leona Stewart Gray, From Barracks to Bricks: The Southwest Texas Junior College Story (Uvalde: Southwest Texas Junior College, 1972). A Proud Heritage: A History of Uvalde County (Uvalde, Texas: El Progreso Club, 1975). Vertical Files, Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, University of Texas at Austin.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Ruben E. Ochoa, "SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE," accessed April 09, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/kcs13.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...