Since its original printing in 1952, the publication of the Handbook of Texas has been made possible through the support of its users. As an independent nonprofit, TSHA relies on your contributions to close the funding gap for the online Handbook and keep it a freely accessible resource for users worldwide. Please make a donation today to preserve the most comprehensive encyclopedic resource on Texas history. Donate Today »


LAREDO COMMUNITY COLLEGE. Laredo Community College was established as Laredo Junior College by voting citizens in the Laredo Independent School District on September 28, 1946. Classes began in September 1947 with an enrollment of 800. The school grew rapidly as World War II veterans entered and reached a peak of 1,745 students in 1950. The main 146-acre campus was at the western edge of Laredo on the south portion of the site of Fort McIntosh. By 1965 the physical plant included thirty-two buildings. Library holdings grew from 5,600 volumes in 1949 to 30,000 volumes in 1969. During the first years of the school's operation the curriculum was grouped into four divisions: liberal arts, adult education, vocational education, and terminal education (an accelerated elementary and high school program). As veterans completed their studies, the vocational and terminal departments were assimilated into the adult-education division, or evening school. When the liberal arts division increased in enrollment, faculty, and course offerings, overcrowding of library, science, and gymnasium facilities resulted. A master building plan for a new 1,500-student college to be constructed on the same site was completed in 1964. By the 1974–75 term student enrollment totaled 3,925. W. J. Adkins served as the first president of the college and was succeeded by Ray A. Laird and Domingo Arechiga.

In 2001 the main campus comprised approximately 200 acres. Students could earn associate degrees in thirteen departments: Computer Information Systems, Nursing, Reading and Speech, Social and Behavioral Sciences, Allied Health, Electronics, English, Math, Music, Science, Honors Program, Distance Education, and Continuing Education and Community Services. The school's name was changed to Laredo Community College in 1993. In the spring of 2000, 7,317 students were enrolled at LCC, full-time faculty numbered 177, and the president was Ramón H. Dovalina.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "LAREDO COMMUNITY COLLEGE," accessed December 06, 2019,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...