Robert Wooster

TRINITY VALLEY CHEMURGIC INSTITUTE. The Trinity Valley Chemurgic Institute, at Romayor, was established in 1940. It was sponsored by the Forward Trinity Valley Association as part of a program of boosting the Trinity River valley. Founders included "Commodore" B. F. Hatfield and Melvin F. Handley. With the cooperation of North Texas State Teachers College (now the University of North Texas) and Sam Houston State Teachers College, the Trinity Valley Chemurgic Institute held classes for high school boys in the summer of 1940. Handley, a professor at Sam Houston State, conducted the school, and Dan Hudgins served as president. The institute promoted the study of the industrial potential of locally abundant natural resources, including Spanish moss, castor beans, and acorns. The outbreak of World War II cut short further operations. Although reorganization was contemplated in 1945, the school apparently never reopened.

Bradford Pickett Collection, Sam Houston Regional Library, Liberty, Texas. Jake Smith Collection, Sam Houston Regional Library, Liberty, Texas.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Robert Wooster, "TRINITY VALLEY CHEMURGIC INSTITUTE," accessed February 21, 2020,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...