Tracy Don Sears

LON MORRIS COLLEGE. Lon Morris College was founded in 1854 as the New Danville Masonic Female Academy near Kilgore. In 1873, under the leadership of Dr. Isaac Alexander, a young Methodist minister, the school moved into Kilgore and became Alexander Institute. It was a private school until 1875, when it became a part of the East Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. The school was moved to Jacksonville in 1894 and given the property of the Sunset Academy, a private school owned by a Jacksonville education organization, as an inducement to move. In Jacksonville it operated under the name Alexander Collegiate Institute. It was accredited by the Texas Department of Education in 1884 and by the University of Texas in 1895. The Twin Towers Building on the present campus on College Avenue was completed in 1909, and the school began to offer a junior college curriculum that same year. It was accredited by the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and by the Texas Department of Education. After the institution received an endowment from R. A. "Lon" Morris, a Methodist lay preacher and banker in Pittsburg, Texas, it became Lon Morris College in 1924. In 1927 Lon Morris College became the first junior college in Texas accredited by the Southern Association of Schools and Colleges, and two years later it also became the first approved for a chapter in Phi Theta Kappa, a national junior college honor society. The Texas Historical Commission recognized Lon Morris College as the oldest junior college in Texas in 1972 and approved a marker for the campus. Lon Morris is also the only one of the pre-Civil War schools in East Texas still in existence. In 1935, when the college faced severe financial difficulties during the Great Depression, Cecil E. Peeples took over as president. Through his nearly four decades of leadership, the college was able to erect a modern plant of twelve permanent buildings and increase its permanent endowment to more than $8 million. In 1976 Faulk Landrum was appointed president. In 1986 a new chapel was added to the campus. The college offers courses in three division: fine arts, humanities, and sciences. Enrollment in the fall of 1998 was 321, with thirty-five faculty. The president was Clifford M. Lee. Enrollment reached a record high of over 1,000 in the fall of 2009 and several new structures were either constructed or acquired from surrounding properties. However, the school soon ran into financial difficulties. In 2012 Lon Morris College filed for bankruptcy. Staff members were furloughed indefinitely and students were allowed to register at Tyler Junior College. The campus was subsequently auctioned in 2013. The school's last president was Dr. Miles McCall. 


Cherokee County History (Jacksonville, Texas: Cherokee County Historical Commission, 1986). Glendell A. Jones, Jr., Mid the Pine Hills of East Texas (Jacksonville, Texas: Progress, 1973). Vertical Files, Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, University of Texas at Austin.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Tracy Don Sears, "LON MORRIS COLLEGE," accessed February 22, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/kbl15.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Modified on March 23, 2018. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...