LA GRANGE FEMALE INSTITUTE. La Grange Female Institute, in La Grange, Fayette County, was planned in the summer of 1845 and opened on September 15, 1845, by Mrs. Virginia S. Mayo. Opening sessions were announced in January and April 1846. The fourteen incorporators listed in the charter of May 11, 1846, included James S. Mayfield, John G. Chalmers, and R. E. B. Baylor.qqv The nondenominational school was to occupy a two-story wooden structure; tuition was set at $2.50 monthly. The school probably closed before 1850, when Marcus A. Montrose, formerly of La Grange Female Institute, took charge of La Grange Collegiate Institute.

William Franklin Ledlow, History of Protestant Education in Texas (Ph.D. dissertation, University of Texas, 1926). Johanna Caroline Walling, Early Education in Fayette County (M.A. thesis, University of Texas, 1941).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "LA GRANGE FEMALE INSTITUTE," accessed July 18, 2019,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox