Megan Biesele

CHURCH HILL ACADEMY. Church Hill Academy, at Church Hill, nine miles northeast of Henderson in Rusk County, was a Presbyterian school established by an act of the Texas legislature on February 13, 1854. At that time it was called Church Hill Male and Female Academy. The institution was on land donated on September 2, 1853, by John C. Robertson, John Strong, and Samuel Watson, who were appointed to the board of trustees with Jackson Pryor, Anderson W. Smith, Newell Tullis, and William P. Wright. It was supervised by six Presbyterian ministers and run by John M. Becton. It is thought to have lasted until the Civil War.

Garland Roscoe Farmer, The Realm of Rusk County (Henderson, Texas: Henderson Times, 1951). Dorman H. Winfrey, A History of Rusk County (Waco: Texian, 1961).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Megan Biesele, "CHURCH HILL ACADEMY," accessed June 15, 2019,

Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox