While our physical offices are closed until further notice in accordance with Austin's COVID-19 "stay home-work safe" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


Mark J. Woodruff

SAN ANGELO, CATHOLIC DIOCESE OF. The Diocese of San Angelo, a suffragan see of the Archdiocese of San Antonio, is one of fourteen Catholic dioceses in Texas. Established by Pope John XXIII on October 16, 1961, the diocese first encompassed thirty-four counties detached from the Catholic dioceses of Amarillo, Austin, El Paso, and Dallas-Fort Worth. The number of counties decreased to twenty-nine when the Catholic Diocese of Lubbock was established in 1983. Cities served by the diocese are San Angelo, Odessa, Midland, Big Spring, and Abilene and the smaller communities of Brownwood, Junction, Sonora, Ozona, and Fort Stockton, among others. In 1989 the diocese covered 37,433 square miles. Forty-nine parishes and twenty-four missions were served in 1992 by eighty priests, thirty-three sisters, and forty-five permanent deacons. About 78,850 Catholics lived in the diocese, up from 61,000 in 1963; 73 percent were Hispanic. Catholicism came to the area in Spanish times with the short-lived San Clemente Mission (1632) and Santa Cruz de San Sabá Mission (1757). Later, Catholics settled around the frontier forts or came with the railroads in the 1880s. Diocesan clergy, members of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate, and Franciscans established many parishes.

Officially, the diocese began on January 24, 1962, with the consecration of Thomas J. Drury as the diocese's first bishop. Four other bishops also served the diocese: Thomas Tschoepe (1966–69), Stephen A. Leven (1969–79), Joseph A. Fiorenza (1979–84), and Michael D. Pfeifer (1985-). Because of its central location, San Angelo was designated the diocesan headquarters. Sacred Heart Parish, founded in 1884, became the cathedral. Financial problems in operating various Catholic schools reduced the number from twelve in 1963 to three in 1992. The permanent diaconate was established in the diocese in the late 1970s with two training classes for laymen. The permanent deacons worked under their pastor's direction preaching, baptizing, officiating at marriages and funerals, and in other ministries. In 1981, under the leadership of Bishop Fiorenza, a major fund drive raised $1.6 million for the construction of a retreat center in San Angelo. Christ the King Retreat Center, completed in 1983, was built to accommodate more than 100 people. The facility includes the Camunez-Tucker Chapel, several meeting rooms, a cafeteria, and offices on grounds near the Concho River. The center is used for retreats, meetings, and ecumenical activities. Three years later the Pastoral Center was constructed nearby to provide space for the major diocesan offices including that of the bishop, the matrimonial tribunal, and the religious education office. A Catholic newspaper, called the Texas Concho Register, was begun in the diocese's early years; it was renamed the West Texas Angelus in 1980. Published biweekly, it carries local, national, and international Catholic news and in 1990 had a circulation of approximately 18,000.


New Catholic Encyclopedia (16 vols., New York: McGraw-Hill, 1967–74). The Official Catholic Directory, 1990.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Mark J. Woodruff, "SAN ANGELO, CATHOLIC DIOCESE OF," accessed July 07, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/ics02.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Modified on February 11, 2019. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...