James L. Hailey

OLD FRANKLIN, TEXAS. Old Franklin served as the original county seat of Robertson County when it was established by the Republic of Texas Congress in 1837. Between 1830 and 1835 a large contingent of surveyors and rangers congregated in the vicinity of Old Franklin. Construction began in earnest in 1837 when Francis Saulter, Robert Henry, and John Chalmers divided property they had acquired from Edward McMillan into town lots. Soon A. W. Cooke established a general store, S. M. White and Thomas Eaton opened a saloon, and Matthew Groom founded a blacksmith and livery stable. In the summer of 1837 the county let a contract for construction of a courthouse and jail. The project was not completed at that time and remained unfinished until 1839. "Three Legged Willie" Williamson presided over the first session of district court in the home of William Love, and Francis Saulter served as first chief justice of the new county. In 1839 Oak Grove was headquarters for the ranger company led by Capt. Eli Chandler. By the mid-1840s Indian raids in the area were no longer a threat. In 1846 Old Franklin opened its post office, which lasted only five years. Franklin Academy opened in 1838 under the guidance of Francis Saulter (who donated the lot) and operated until his premature death in 1842. By the end of the decade many settlers of Old Franklin had abandoned the town for farms on the rich blackland prairies. In 1850 county voters moved the county seat from Old Franklin to Wheelock, and Old Franklin was abandoned. Franklin, the present county seat of Robertson County, is close to the original site of Old Franklin.

J. W. Baker, History of Robertson County, Texas (Franklin, Texas: Robertson County Historical Survey Committee, 1970). Ivory Freeman Carson, Early Development of Robertson County (M.A. thesis, North Texas State College, 1954). Katherine Galloway, Ghost Towns of Robertson County (Franklin, Texas, 1975).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, James L. Hailey, "OLD FRANKLIN, TX," accessed December 07, 2019, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hvo21.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
Texas AlmanacFor more information about towns and counties including physical features, statistics, weather, maps and much more, visit the Town Database on TexasAlmanac.com!
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...