Since its original printing in 1952, the publication of the Handbook of Texas has been made possible through the support of its users. As an independent nonprofit, TSHA relies on your contributions to close the funding gap for the online Handbook and keep it a freely accessible resource for users worldwide. Please make a donation today to preserve the most comprehensive encyclopedic resource on Texas history. Donate Today »


Vivian Elizabeth Smyrl

WOLF'S CROSSING, TEXAS. Wolf's Crossing was on the Colorado River seven miles west of Marble Falls in southwestern Burnet County. It grew up around a low-water crossing on the Wolf family farm. A post office was established there in 1874 with James P. Noble as postmaster. By the mid-1880s Wolf's Crossing had a gristmill, a cotton gin, three general stores, and 100 residents; wool and cotton were the principal commodities shipped from the area. James P. and Amanda Noble gave an acre of land for a school in 1884. The school, originally called Wolf's Crossing School, came to be known as Lavista by the 1890s. It had one teacher and thirty-four students in 1896 and was consolidated with the Marble Falls Independent School District in 1949. The population of Wolf's Crossing fell to fifty in the early 1890s, probably because the Austin and Northwestern Railroad chose a river crossing a few miles upriver when the Fairland-Llano section of the railroad, finished in 1892, was built. The post office at Wolf's Crossing was discontinued in 1893, and mail for the community was sent to Sandy Mount in Llano County. Portions of the Wolf's Crossing site were submerged by Lake Lyndon B. Johnson when Wirtz Dam was completed in the 1951. The remaining areas were developed as subdivisions and lake resorts.


Darrell Debo, Burnet County History (2 vols., Burnet, Texas: Eakin, 1979).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Vivian Elizabeth Smyrl, "WOLF'S CROSSING, TX," accessed April 19, 2019,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Modified on April 13, 2018. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
Texas AlmanacFor more information about towns and counties including physical features, statistics, weather, maps and much more, visit the Town Database on!

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox