SALTILLO, COAHUILA, MEXICO. Saltillo, once the capital of the Mexican state of Coahuila and Texas, was founded in 1586 near a mission established in 1582. In 1785 Saltillo, with the nearby village of Parras and the surrounding district, was detached from the province of Nueva Vizcaya and added to the province of Coahuila. Saltillo was named the capital of Coahuila and Texas in 1824 and remained the seat of government until March 1833. To honor one of the heroines of the Mexican War of Independence, the name of Saltillo was changed to Leona Vicario on November 5, 1827, but the town was renamed Saltillo on April 2, 1831.

Vito Alessio Robles, Coahuila y Texas en la época colonial (Mexico City: Editorial Cultura, 1938; 2d ed., Mexico City: Editorial Porrúa, 1978).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, "SALTILLO, COAHUILA, MEXICO," accessed August 21, 2019,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
Texas AlmanacFor more information about towns and counties including physical features, statistics, weather, maps and much more, visit the Town Database on!

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox