sidebar menu icon


DYE, TEXAS. Dye, also known as Dye Mound, is a farming community ten miles southeast of Montague on a spur off Farm Road 3206 in southeastern Montague County. Its settlement occurred in 1880, and the community developed around J. D. Bybee's general store. A post office branch operated at Dye from 1884 to 1905. Throughout its history Dye has functioned as a community center for area farmers. Its recorded population has never exceeded sixty, and from the late 1940s through the 1990s no population estimates were available. In 1961 three dwellings and a church were in the vicinity. The 1983 county highway map showed a cemetery there. In 2000 the population was 200.

David Minor

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, David Minor, "Dye, TX," accessed October 17, 2017,

Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
Texas AlmanacFor more information about towns and counties including physical features, statistics, weather, maps and much more, visit the Town Database on!