Members Only Area
Bookmark and Share
sidebar menu icon


RICHLAND COUNTY. Richland County was established by a declaration of the Constitutional Convention of 1868–69. It included land now in Limestone, McLennan, Hill, and Navarro counties. Richland County was never organized or legalized by legislative act.


Hans Peter Nielsen Gammel, comp., Laws of Texas, 1822–1897 (10 vols., Austin: Gammel, 1898).

Seymour V. Connor


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Seymour V. Connor, "RICHLAND COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online (, accessed November 25, 2015. Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Texas AlmanacFor more information about towns and counties including physical features, statistics, weather, maps and much more, visit the Town Database on!