While our physical offices are closed until further notice in accordance with Austin's COVID-19 "stay home-work safe" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


Seymour V. Connor

WILSON, ROSCOE (1881–1936). Roscoe Wilson, lawyer, businessman, and civic leader, was born on March 5, 1881, in Brazoria, Texas, the son of Eugene Joseph and Della (Sweeney) Wilson. After finishing public school in Houston, he studied law in his father's office and was admitted to the bar in 1903. He opened his own law office in Lubbock in 1909 and established the firm of Wilson, Randal, and Kilpatrick there in 1925. He was a director of the First National Bank of Lubbock and one of the founders of the Lubbock Building and Loan Association. On June 22, 1912, he was married to Alice Effie Brownfield. Wilson was active in civic affairs in Lubbock; he belonged to a number of city, business, and fraternal organizations and served on a number of special boards and committees, including the charter commission for the city of Lubbock. He aided in the establishment of St. Pauls-on-the-Plains Episcopal Church and was a member of the Lubbock school board. Wilson was a member of the local committee that secured the site for Texas Technological College. He helped induce the state to locate the institution in Lubbock and was appointed in 1929 to the college's board of directors, on which he served until his death on February 13, 1936. A Lubbock elementary school was named in his honor, and in 1936 La Ventana,the Texas Tech yearbook, was dedicated to him.

Seymour V. Connor, ed., Builders of the Southwest (Lubbock: Southwest Collection, Texas Technological College, 1959). Lawrence L. Graves, ed., A History of Lubbock (Lubbock: West Texas Museum Association, 1962).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Seymour V. Connor, "WILSON, ROSCOE," accessed August 12, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/fwi57.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...