While our physical offices are closed until further notice in accordance with Austin's COVID-19 "stay home-work safe" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


Aragorn Storm Miller

ROSBOROUGH, DAVID DECATUR (1816–1907). David Decatur Rosborough, also listed as Roseborough, farmer, rancher, Confederate officer, and state legislator, was born in Chester County, South Carolina, on September 14, 1816. He was the son of Alexander and Jane Stuart (Porter) Rosborough. He was raised in Tennessee and married Ann Linnier Eastland in Lincoln County, Tennessee, on September 24, 1840. They had three sons and two daughters. By 1854 Rosborough immigrated with his family to Texas and settled near a contingent of kin in the Whitehall area of Bell County. Here he established himself as a prosperous farmer and rancher. In the spring of 1859 Rosborough was a member of an expedition that set out from Bell County to mine for gold along the Pecos River. Upon his return in the summer of 1859, he became a leading Bell County advocate of secession from the Union.

In 1862, following the outbreak of the Civil War, Rosborough volunteered for service in the Confederate Army and enlisted in the Seventeenth Texas Infantry Regiment as a private. He was later promoted to captain and was reassigned as regimental quartermaster. He continued to serve in this capacity through the remainder of the war. At the cessation of hostilities, Rosborough returned to Bell County, where he assumed a leading role in the public affairs of the community. In 1872 he won election, on the Democratic ticket, as representative for District 28—comprised of Bell, Brown, Hays, Comanche, Coryell, Hamilton, Lampasas, San Saba, Travis, Williamson, Concho, Coleman, and McCulloch counties—to the House of the Thirteenth Texas Legislature; he served from January 14, 1873, to January 13, 1874, and chaired the Public Buildings and Grounds Committee. Rosborough served in the Fourteenth Texas Legislature as well, this time representing District 17—comprised of Bell, Falls, and Milam counties—from January 13, 1874, to April 18, 1876. He died in Bell County on October 26, 1907, and was buried there at Moffat Cemetery. He was a Presbyterian and was a charter member of both Leon Masonic Lodge and Camp No. 122 of the United Confederate Veterans.


Bell County Historical Commission, Story of Bell County, Texas (2 vols., Austin: Eakin Press, 1988). “Capt. David D. Rosborough,” Find A Grave Memorial (http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=gr&GRid=9537925), accessed June 24, 2014. Legislative Reference Library of Texas: D. D. Rosborough (http://www.lrl.state.tx.us/legeLeaders/members/memberDisplay.cfm?memberID=4816&searchparams=chamber=~city=~countyID=0~RcountyID=~district=~first=~gender=~last=rosborough~leaderNote=~leg=~party=~roleDesc=~Committee=), accessed June 24, 2014. Members of the Legislature of the State of Texas from 1846 to 1939 (Austin: State of Texas Press, 1939). George Tyler, History of Bell County (San Antonio: Naylor, 1936).

Aragorn Storm Miller

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Aragorn Storm Miller, "ROSBOROUGH, DAVID DECATUR," accessed July 13, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/froed.

Uploaded on June 25, 2014. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...