While our physical offices are closed until further notice in accordance with Austin's COVID-19 "stay home-work safe" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


Megan Seaholm

OWEN, MAY (1892–1988). May Owen (Dr. May), pathologist, was born on a farm in Falls County, Texas, on May 3, 1892. She completed high school in Fort Worth in 1913 and received a bachelor of arts degree in 1917 from Texas Christian University. She earned her medical degree from Louisville (Kentucky) Medical School in 1921 and continued studies at the Mayo Clinic and at Bellevue Hospital in New York City. She returned to Fort Worth to practice medicine and eventually became chief pathologist for Terrell Laboratories. She distinguished herself as a scientist when she discovered that the powder once used in surgical gloves could cause scarring, adhesions, and peritonitis. Texas Christian University awarded her an honorary doctor of science degree in 1936 for this discovery. In the 1950s she assisted in early studies of the cattle disease chloronaphthline and was later honored by the American Veterinary Medical Association for her research. In 1953 the Texas Medical Association awarded her a Recognition of Merit for an exhibit in occupational medicine. Dr. May was the first woman elected president of the Texas Society of Pathologists (1945), of the Tarrant County Medical Society (1947), and of the Texas Medical Association (1960). As TMA president, she used her travel allowance to establish a fund to assist physicians and their families in times of financial crisis. She also chaired the TMA Council on Scientific Affairs for the maximum tenure of nine years. In 1969 the TMA acknowledged her many contributions with their highest honor, the Distinguished Service Award.

Dr. Owen provided financial assistance to hundreds of students in the health care professions. To guarantee that her beneficence would outlive her, she established the May Owen Trust Fund (1966), administered by the TMA, for low-interest loans to medical students, and a nursing scholarship at Tarrant County Junior College (1984). To acknowledge her generosity, the medical fraternity Alpha Kappa Kappa made her an honorary member in 1955; in 1987 she was the first person to receive an Award for Outstanding Service to the TMA Medical Student Section. She was a trustee of the Fort Worth Boys' Choir (1958), a member of the national board of the Women's College of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia (1962), and a member of the first board of the Tarrant County Junior College District (1963). When the Texas Tech University School of Medicine opened in 1972, Dr. Owen obtained 20,000 volumes for its library and endowed the school's first chair in pathology. In 1978 she was named Distinguished Friend of Tarleton State University. Other honors bestowed upon her include the highest awards from the Tarrant County Medical Society (1952) and the Texas Society of Pathologists (1958). The Texas Christian University chapter of the National Conference of Christians and Jews and the National Jewish Hospital and Research Center acclaimed her for her humanitarianism. The people of Fort Worth were especially proud of Dr. May. She was honored by the Altrusa Club (1948), the Women's Club of Fort Worth (1958), the Women's Auxiliary to the Tarrant County Medical Society (1959), the Woman's Civic Council (1976), and the Sertoma Club (1971). In 1965 the Hall of Health Sciences in the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History was named in her honor. She was inducted into the Texas Women's Hall of Fame in 1986 and died on April 12, 1988, at the age of ninety-six.

Donna B. Jones, "May Owen's Hand in the Future," Texas Medicine 84 (June 1988).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Megan Seaholm, "OWEN, MAY," accessed July 14, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/fow08.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...