While our physical offices are closed until further notice in accordance with Austin's COVID-19 "stay home-work safe" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


Walter N. Vernon

NÁÑEZ, ALFREDO (1902–1986). Alfredo Náñez, pastor and presiding elder of the Hispanic Rio Grande Conference of the United Methodist Church, was born in 1902 in Monclova, Coahuila, to Guillermo and Aurelia (Córdoba) Náñez. He attended preparatory schools in Mexico and planned to enter the university in Mexico City, but the Mexican Revolution in the 1920s changed his plans and he went to Eagle Pass. There he joined the Methodist Church and decided to enter the ministry. He attended Wesleyan Institute in San Antonio and received a B.A. degree from Southwestern University in 1930. He graduated from Perkins School of Theology at Southern Methodist University in 1932 and married Clotilde Falcon in 1934.

Náñez was pastor and presiding elder in the Rio Grande Conference, executive secretary of Christian education in the conference, president of Lydia Patterson Institute in El Paso, and professor of practical theology and lecturer in Mexican-American studies at Perkins School of Theology, 1970–73. He edited the first Himnario Metodista in 1955, the Ritual Metodista in 1965, and the Himnario Metodista in 1972. He wrote a section for the book One in the Lord (1977) about Methodism among the Spanish-speaking people in Texas and New Mexico. He also wrote History of the Rio Grande Conference of the United Methodist Church, published by Perkins School of Theology in 1980. He served the Methodist Church as a member of several churchwide agencies. He died on May 18, 1986, at Edinburg of a heart attack.


Who's Who in the Methodist Church (Nashville: Abingdon, 1966).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Walter N. Vernon, "NANEZ, ALFREDO," accessed May 26, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/fna19.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Modified on January 23, 2013. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...