E. C. Barksdale

MCGIFFIN, PHILO NORTON (1900–1964). Philo Norton McGiffin, journalist and professor, was born in Fairhaven, New York, on May 6, 1900, the son of Rev. Nathaniel and Margaret (Leet) McGiffin. He received the B.A. degree from Hamilton College in 1923 and the LL.B. from the University of Southern California in 1926. He became the chief editorial writer of the Buffalo (New York) Evening News in 1938 and served in the same capacity for the St. Petersburg (Florida) Times from 1939 to 1940. He came to Texas in September 1940 as professor of English and later taught history at Arlington State College (now the University of Texas at Arlington), where he served until his death.

During World War II McGiffin was radio news analyst and commentator for the Texas Quality Network. He initiated the practice of comparing foreign military operations and geography with distances between Texas towns, thus in a sense bringing Guadalcanal and Normandy home to Cuero, Waxahachie, and other Texas localities. For two years after the war he was political analyst and editorial writer for the Fort Worth Press. McGiffin wrote several historical novels for youth, including The Domino Horse (1958) and Sam Henderson, Texas Ranger (1959). He was a member of the Texas State Historical Association, Sigma Delta Chi, and Delta Theta Phi. The McGiffin Memorial Award to outstanding undergraduate history students at UT Arlington is named in his honor. He and his wife, Lewis Lee Shaffer McGiffenqv, had one son. McGiffin died on April 12, 1964.

Fort Worth Star-Telegram, April 13, 1964.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, E. C. Barksdale, "MCGIFFIN, PHILO NORTON," accessed July 22, 2019,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox