While our physical offices are closed until further notice in accordance with Austin's COVID-19 "stay home-work safe" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


J. L. Allhands

LOTT, URIAH (1842–1915). Uriah Lott, businessman and railroad promoter, was born in Albany, New York, on January 30, 1842. In 1867 he arrived at Brazos Santiago, Texas, and proceeded by way of Brownsville to Corpus Christi, where he found employment in a commission house. He established his own commission and forwarding business in 1871 and chartered three sailing vessels to transport wool and hides to New York. As one of the directors of the Corpus Navigation Company, he worked to improve the Corpus Christi channel. Lott was particularly interested in railroad development; with the help of Mifflin Kenedy and Richard King, he built the Corpus Christi, San Diego and Rio Grande Narrow Gauge Railroad from Corpus Christi to Laredo. The project required seven years and was jeered as "Lott's Folly." In 1884 Lott went to San Antonio and played a leading role in projecting and building the San Antonio and Aransas Pass Railway. Continuing his railroad promotion, he became president of the St. Louis, Brownsville and Mexico Railway, which reached Brownsville on July 4, 1904. Lott was essentially a promoter, not a financier, and he spent his last years in poverty. He died in Kingsville on March 28, 1915, and was buried there. He had played a significant part in developing transportation in the Corpus Christi and Rio Grande Valley sections as well as South Texas generally. The town of Lott in Falls County was named for him.


James Lewellyn Allhands, Gringo Builders (Joplin, Missouri, Dallas, Texas, 1931). James L. Allhands, Uriah Lott (San Antonio: Naylor, 1949).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, J. L. Allhands, "LOTT, URIAH," accessed August 04, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/flo24.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Modified on June 25, 2020. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...