While our physical offices are closed until further notice in accordance with Austin's COVID-19 "stay home-work safe" order, the Handbook of Texas will remain available at no-cost for you, your fellow history enthusiasts, and all Texas students currently mandated to study from home. If you have the capacity to help us maintain our online Texas history resources during these uncertain times, please consider making a 100% tax-deductible contribution today. Thank you for your support of TSHA and Texas history. Donate Today »


J. L. Bryan

HARRISON, JAMES MARSHALL (1818–1899). James Marshall Harrison, legislator and judge, was born in Humphreys County, Tennessee, on February 21, 1818. He was orphaned at an early age and moved to Mississippi around 1832. He married Elizabeth Goodwin on April 14, 1842, and settled in Panola County, Mississippi, where he served as justice of the peace for two years. Harrison moved to Texas in 1846 and settled on Four Mile Prairie in Van Zandt County. In 1848 he was elected Van Zandt county tax assessor and collector, and in 1850 he was elected county judge. He represented Van Zandt County in the House of the Seventh and Eighth legislatures (1857–61) and was a delegate to the Secession Convention. Though he served only in the adjourned session, he signed the Ordinance of Secession. Harrison enlisted in the Confederate Army on February 8, 1862, at Canton, Texas. He was elected captain of Company E, Eleventh Texas Infantry, but was relieved of duty in June 1862. After the war Harrison served three more terms in the House during the Thirteenth, Fourteenth, and Eighteenth legislatures (1873–75, 1883–84). He died on January 3, 1899, and was buried in the Cana Cemetery east of Canton. He was the father of at least seven children.

William DeRyee and R. E. Moore, The Texas Album of the Eighth Legislature, 1860 (Austin: Miner, Lambert, and Perry, 1860). Margaret Elizabeth Hall, A History of Van Zandt County (Austin: Jenkins, 1976). Wentworth Manning, Some History of Van Zandt County (Des Moines, Iowa: Homestead, 1919; rpt., Winston-Salem, North Carolina: Hunter, 1977).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, J. L. Bryan, "HARRISON, JAMES MARSHALL," accessed May 29, 2020, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/fhagp.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.
visit the mytsha forums to participate

View these posts and more when you register your free MyTSHA account.

Call for Papers: Texas Center for Working-Class Studies Events, Symposia, and Workshops
Hi all! You may be interested in this call for papers I received from the Texas Center for Working-Class Studies at Collin College...

Katy Jennings' Ride Scholarly Research Request
I'm doing research on Catherine Jennings Lockwood, specifically the incident known as "Katy Jennings' Ride." Her father was Gordon C. Jennings, the oldest man to die at the Alamo...

Texas Constitution of 1836 Co-Author- Elisha Pease? Ask a Historian
The TSHA profile of Elisha Marshall Pease states that he wrote part of the Texas Constitution although he was only a 24 year-old assistant secretary (not elected). I cannot find any other mention of this authorship work by Pease in other credible research about the credited Constution authors...