Since its original printing in 1952, the publication of the Handbook of Texas has been made possible through the support of its users. As an independent nonprofit, TSHA relies on your contributions to close the funding gap for the online Handbook and keep it a freely accessible resource for users worldwide. Please make a donation today to preserve the most comprehensive encyclopedic resource on Texas history. Donate Today »


Robert Wooster

EVERITT, STEPHEN HENDRICKSON (1806–1844). Stephen Hendrickson Everitt, politician, merchant, and speculator, was born in Poughkeepsie, New York, on November 26, 1806. He moved to Texas in 1834, acquired land now in Jasper County, and was elected a delegate from Bevil Municipality to the Consultation of 1835 and from Jasper Municipality to the Convention of 1836. He signed the Declaration of November 7, 1835, the Texas Declaration of Independence, and the Constitution of the Republicqv. Everitt also served as one of three commissioners appointed to close the land offices in the Department of Nacogdoches and gained several mail contracts in Southeast Texas. Although apparently not a practicing physician, he was often referred to as Dr. Everitt. He married Alta Zera Williams, and they had four children. He was a strong supporter of Mirabeau B. Lamar and represented Jasper County as senator in the first five congresses of the Republic of Texas before resigning in December 1840. As a speculator he operated stores in Bevilport and on Sabine Pass and owned town lots in Bevil, Jasper, and Belgrade. He died in New Orleans on July 12, 1844. His home in Jasper County has been made a historical landmark.

Louis Wiltz Kemp, The Signers of the Texas Declaration of Independence (Salado, Texas: Anson Jones, 1944; rpt. 1959). Madeleine Martin, More Early Southeast Texas Families (Quanah, Texas: Nortex, 1978). Texas House of Representatives, Biographical Directory of the Texan Conventions and Congresses, 1832–1845 (Austin: Book Exchange, 1941).

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Robert Wooster, "EVERITT, STEPHEN HENDRICKSON," accessed August 19, 2019,

Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox