Carolyn Hyman

DAVIDSON, ASBURY BASCOM (1855–1920). Asbury Bascom Davidson, lawyer and lieutenant governor of Texas, son of William and Cathrina (McBank) Davidson, was born on November 13, 1855, in Lincoln County, Tennessee. He moved to Williamson County, Texas, with his parents before 1870, was educated during the 1870s at Southwestern University in Georgetown, and then moved to Gonzales to study in a law office. After being admitted to the bar, he practiced for a time in Gonzales before moving in the early 1880s to Cuero, where he established his home and a law firm. There, in the late 1880s, he was elected district attorney for the Twenty-fourth Judicial District; he held that office for eight years, until he was elected state senator, a post he held for three years. Davidson was elected lieutenant governor of Texas for three consecutive terms, from 1906 to 1912; he was one of the few men to serve in that office for that many successive terms. He was also a member of the board of directors of the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas (now Texas A&M University). He served on the Texas executive committee for the Interstate Inland Waterway League of Louisiana and Texas after it was organized in 1905. Davidson was married to Minnie McClanahan in March 1890. He died on February 4, 1920, and was buried in Hillside Cemetery, Cuero.

Niel John McArthur, The Twenty-seventh Legislature and State Administration of Texas (Austin: Ben C. Jones, 1901). Proceedings of the Texas Bar Association, 1921. Vertical Files, Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, University of Texas at Austin.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Carolyn Hyman, "DAVIDSON, ASBURY BASCOM," accessed July 18, 2019, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/fda24.

Uploaded on June 12, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox