Nancy Beck Young

TEXARKANA AND NORTHERN RAILWAY. The Texarkana and Northern Railway Company was chartered on June 18, 1885, to connect Texarkana with the Arkansas state line on the Red River in Bowie County. The capital stock was $100,000, and the principal place of business was Texarkana. Members of the first board of directors were William L. Whitaker, Ben Whitaker, B. T. Estes, William Buchanan, Anthony L. Ghio, Joe Marx, and William Behan, all of Bowie County; C. C. Gallaway of Cass County; and E. W. Taylor of Marion County. In 1885 the railroad built ten miles of track to reach Whitaker's timber holdings between Texarkana and the Red River. On July 9, 1889, it was renamed the Texarkana and Fort Smith Railway Company.

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to: http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/17/107.shtml

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Nancy Beck Young, "TEXARKANA AND NORTHERN RAILWAY," accessed July 17, 2019, http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/eqtmk.

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.

Get this week's most popular Handbook of Texas articles delivered straight to your inbox