sidebar menu icon


RED RIVER, TEXAS AND SOUTHERN RAILWAY. The Red River, Texas and Southern Railway Company was chartered on February 4, 1901, to build a railroad south from the Red River at Willis, Grayson County, to Fort Worth, along with a branch line to Dallas. The capital was $200,000, and the office was initially located at Willis but subsequently moved to Fort Worth. Members of the first board of directors were Sam Lazarus, Jot Gunter, and T. LaHache, all of Grayson County; J. D. Perry Francis, William Stix, and W. P. Kenneth, all of St. Louis; and John S. Summerfield of Dallas. On March 23, 1902, the company placed in service about fifty-three miles of track between Sherman and Carrollton and about four miles of additional track at Fort Worth. The Red River, Texas and Southern used the Saint Louis Southwestern Railway Company of Texas track between Carrollton and Fort Worth. In 1903 the company earned $43,274 in passenger revenue and $205,032 in freight revenue. It connected with the Saint Louis, San Francisco and Texas Railway Company at Sherman, and was merged with that company on June 25, 1904.

Chris Cravens

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Chris Cravens, "Red River, Texas and Southern Railway," accessed November 22, 2017,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.