sidebar menu icon


MARSHALL, TIMPSON AND SABINE PASS RAILWAY. The Marshall, Timpson and Sabine Pass Railway Company was chartered on August 6, 1896. The railroad was planned to connect Timpson in Shelby County with Carthage in Panola County. The capital stock was $20,000, and the principal place of business was Timpson. The members of the first board of directors were L. F. Limbert of Greenville, Ohio; T. L. Garrison, B. F. Hurkster, C. E. Sanford, W. T. Avery, and Sol Burkett, all of Timpson; Roy Russell of Kokomo, Indiana; and J. T. Garrison of Nacogdoches. In 1898 the railroad completed twenty miles of track between Timpson and Carthage. On December 27, 1904, the company was purchased by the Texas and Gulf Railway Company.

Nancy Beck Young

Image Use Disclaimer

All copyrighted materials included within the Handbook of Texas Online are in accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 related to Copyright and “Fair Use” for Non-Profit educational institutions, which permits the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA), to utilize copyrighted materials to further scholarship, education, and inform the public. The TSHA makes every effort to conform to the principles of fair use and to comply with copyright law.

For more information go to:

If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond fair use, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.


The following, adapted from the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, is the preferred citation for this article.

Handbook of Texas Online, Nancy Beck Young, "Marshall, Timpson and Sabine Pass Railway," accessed November 20, 2017,

Uploaded on June 15, 2010. Published by the Texas State Historical Association.